1500 hours down, a lifetime to go

Yesterday was my very emotional graduation from Michigan College of Beauty.

I started September 24, 2007, which seems like a lifetime ago. I didn’t know anybody going into school, I just knew what my future held for me.

Photobucket

I can’t even begin to tell you how grateful I am for my education at MCB. Not only the Pivot Point training, but my instructors and their lessons. My regulars and their pickiness. My mannequins and their crazy hair. My fellow students and their drama. And most of all, the combination of all of those things that helped me find myself, not only as a hairstylist, but as a person.

I have worked harder than I have ever worked before in this school. It took some time to really get myself situated and to find my talent, but once I did, I went full-speed ahead. I started going 40 hours a week, and on my days off, to make up for hours I had missed.

I can honestly say I have enjoyed every single hour out of the 1500 at MCB. School, for me, was a place to come to to escape. I put everything I had into every single head I did, mannequins and all. There is nothing I would rather be doing for the rest of my life.

A little shout-out action for certain people:

Aleasha:
Photobucket
I can’t even imagine my life without you, nor can I remember it before you. I am so happy that you and I became so close and I know we will be this close forever. I’ll always be there to glue in your tracks! Just don’t turn anyone’s hair purple!

Jen:
Photobucket

Thank God you let me cut your hair! I was begging you for a year! We have bonded so much just through these last few months (Bed Head or not!) and I love all the times we have had. I will always be there for you, and we can pile our kids in the car together anytime–just not your neon! …And I love the red on you, dont change it! And you are a fabulous dancer ๐Ÿ˜‰

Kristen:
Photobucket
My little BH… You have cracked me up more times than anyone in this school! You have sucha spirit when you walk into a room, you automatically make everyone smile. And thanks for letting me cut your hair off too! No more rollersets, ok?!

Junior Room Girls:
Photobucket
HA! I’m the first out! Haha, just kidding. I love all of you and I know we will all be successful in this industry– thanks to Ms. T! We all know how to wrap perms, thats for sure!

My day school buddies:

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket
Photobucket Photobucket

Thanks for being so nice to us joiners! We were the new kids at school and you showed us the day school ropes! Now, of course, we are closer than ever and I hate to leave you guys! You will all be so successful and we should have a class reunion ๐Ÿ™‚

John Ross Gray:
Photobucket
…what to say?! The picture says enough. Oh John.

My instructors:
Ms. T, Ms Ryder, Pip, Donnie Hot Pants, Ms Nicase, Ms Rivers, Ms Karal, Ms Sandra (and everyone else, too)

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

You all have taught me so much and have built my confidence. Thank you for making me work hard and teaching me everything I need to know to be a very successful hairstylist.

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’M OUT!!

One thought on “1500 hours down, a lifetime to go

Leave a Reply

